27-08-2021 20:30

John Marshall Quartet

John Marshall was born in Wantagh, NY in 1952. From 1971 to 1991, he worked and recorded with a long list of jazz greats. Buddy Rich, Mel Lewis, Lionel Hampton, Gerry Mulligan, Ornette Coleman, George Coleman, Buck Clayton, Mario Bauza and Dizzy Gillespie, to name only a few. Along the way, he constantly worked at perfecting his craft, studying with the great brass teacher Carmine Caruso as well as jazz trumpeter Lonnie Hillyer. He also led the Jazz quintet “The Bopera House” from 1987 to 1991, and stayed very busy as an in-demand studio player.
From 1992 to 2017 John was an important soloist in the West Deutscher Rundfunk Big Band, based in Cologne, Germany, recording many CDs and performing internationally. Concurrently, he toured and recorded in New York and around the world with his quartet and quintet. He has released twelve CDs as a leader and many more as a featured guest. In 2016 and 2017, he toured Russia six times with the Classic Jazz Trio. Their new CD will be out shortly. In recent years Marshall has developed into a convincing vocalist, alongside his masterful trumpet and flugelhorn playing.
Having completed his contract with WDR, he is now available full-time on a freelance basis.
Since 1996, John has released 12 CDs as a leader or co-leader and several more as a specially featured guest. Meanwhile, his reputation has continued to grow through the many concerts and CDs of the WDR Big Band.
Timothy Banchet : piano
Matheus Nickolaiewsky : bass
Bruno Catellucci : drums
John Marshall : trumpet - flugelhorn - vocal
Limited number of places, please book.
Entrance : 12€

Back to overview

Impression

Discover atmosphere

Contact us

Jazz Bar 27B flat
Sint-Jakobsstraat 15
8000 Brugge

E: tune-in@27bflat.be
Resto/Bar+32 479 29 74 29
Bands, DJ - +32 479 29 74 29

Stay informed

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed of all our events

27-08-2021 20:30

John Marshall Quartet

John Marshall est né à Wantagh, NY en 1952. De 1971 à 1991, il a travaillé et enregistré avec une longue liste de grands noms du jazz. Buddy Rich, Mel Lewis, Lionel Hampton, Gerry Mulligan, Ornette Coleman, George Coleman, Buck Clayton, Mario Bauza et Dizzy Gillespie, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns. En chemin, il a constamment travaillé à perfectionner son art, étudiant avec le grand professeur de cuivres Carmine Caruso ainsi que le trompettiste de jazz Lonnie Hillyer. Il a également dirigé le quintette de jazz "The Bopera House" de 1987 à 1991 et est resté très occupé en tant que joueur de studio très demandé.
De 1992 à 2017, John était un soliste important du West Deutscher Rundfunk Big Band, basé à Cologne, en Allemagne, enregistrant de nombreux CD et se produisant à l'échelle internationale. Parallèlement, il tourne et enregistre à New York et dans le monde avec son quatuor et son quintette. Il a sorti douze CD en tant que leader et bien d'autres en tant qu'invité vedette. En 2016 et 2017, il a effectué six tournées en Russie avec le Classic Jazz Trio. Leur nouveau CD sortira sous peu. Ces dernières années, Marshall est devenu un chanteur convaincant, aux côtés de son jeu magistral de trompette et de bugle.
Après avoir terminé son contrat avec WDR, il est maintenant disponible à temps plein en tant qu'indépendant.
Depuis 1996, John a sorti 12 CD en tant que leader ou co-leader et plusieurs autres en tant qu'invité spécial. Pendant ce temps, sa réputation n'a cessé de grandir à travers les nombreux concerts et CD du WDR Big Band.
Timothée Banchet : piano
Matheus Nickolaiewsky : basse
Bruno Catellucci : batterie
John Marshall : trompette - bugle - chant
Nombre de places limité, merci de réserver.
Entrée : 12€

Retour à la liste

Impression

Découvrir l'atmosphere

Contactez-nous

Jazz Bar 27B flat
Sint-Jakobsstraat 15
8000 Brugge

E: tune-in@27bflat.be
Resto/Bar+32 479 29 74 29
Bands, DJ - +32 479 29 74 29

Rester informé

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et restez informé de tous nos événements