24-02-2023 20:30

Mazzel

Koen Nys - Tenor Saxophone
Bram Weijters - Piano, Wurlitzer, Moog Synthesizer
Lionel Beuvens - Drums
Bios Band Members:
Koen Nys
Born in 1965 in Schriek, near Heist-op-den Berg (Belgium), Koen Nys started studying music at the local music academy at the age of 14, also thanks to the support and encouragement of his brother. He developed a genuine passion for jazz attending international concerts at the 'Hnita Hoeve'. In 1982 he started studying at the then newly created Jazz Studio, in Antwerp (Belgium), for two years, where he attended private classes by John Ruocco. His fellow students were Erwin Vann, Hendrik Braeckman, Piet Verbist, Frank Vaganee and others. He also took part in the Jazz Workshops in Dwerp and attended classes by Joe Lovano.
Koen left Belgium and headed for Montréal in 1984 where he studied at the McGill University and obtained the degree in ‘Jazz Performance’. After his studies at the McGill University he played with various bands in Montreal. Koen performed with his own quintet at 'Le festival International de Jazz de Montréal' in 1992.
During his studies he attended workshops by amongst others, Steve Grossman, Bob Mover, Barry Harris (one week workshop). He also took lessons with Fred Henke, who was the pianist in Steve Grossman's band at that time. He played in several jazz bands with his fellow students, with Ron Seguin, also bass player in Steve Grossman's band. He played in Latin formations and was co-leader of the the Latin band called ‘Guayaba'.
One year later he exchanged Montréal for Tokyo, Japan, where he resided for two years, both performing with various bands and teaching. He met bass player Jesse Murphy and they played gigs together. Moreover he also played with a French band
featuring Patrick Nugier and they ended up recording an album together 'Musette? Chouette!!”. In the summer of 1995, he participated in the Jazz Workshop in Banff, Canada, and had the opportunity at this venue to work together with Kenny Wheeler and Joe Labarbera.
Afterwards, Koen moved to New York, where he studied with George Garzone and fully enjoyed the New York Jazz Scene. He started his first quartet with the Canadian guitar player Mike Rud, bass player Steve Doyle and the Irish drummer Darren Beckett and recorded his first CD entitled 'CHIMBE' whilst on tour in the States. He jammed with Jesse Murphy, Jorge Rossy and Michael Kanan with whom he also did some gigs.
He briefly returned to Montreal; performed at several ‘hotel-gigs’ in the Arabic Emirates (together with Ron Seguin) and Korea (with 7-string guitar player Jon Garey) and finally settled again in Belgium.
Back home he performed with ‘The Brussels Jazz Orchestra’ and worked together with – amongst others - Dré Pallemaerts, Felix Simtaine, Kurt Van Herck, Lieven Venken and Piet Verbist performing in jazz clubs mostly in Antwerp and Brussels. As from October 2001, Koen teaches at the Jazz Studio in Antwerp and at several music academies in Belgium (Tongeren, Heist-op-den-Berg and Lennik). In 2003, Koen was invited as guest musician for the debut CD of Chris Mentens, 'Jazz Van'. He was part of the hip band 'Milleniums', recording their first CD in 2004, followed by the second one in 2009. In 2011, he records 'Turtle Music' with his Koen Nys Quintet and performs with his own bands or as a freelance musician in clubs, in the company of - amongst others - Bram Weijters, Marek Patrman, Manolo Cabras, Ewout Pierreux and Lionel Beuvens.
Since a few years he has been working on the MAZZLE project, involving Bram Weijters on keyboard and Lionel Beuvens on drums, resulting in the first album ‘Genetic Modified Art - GMA’.
Bram Weyters
Eight years old, Bram started music courses at the music school in his birth town, attending piano and percussion classes. Besides this classical training, he played drums in several alternative rock bands as a teenager and was experimenting with tape recorders and electronic circuits. This is how he picked up classical, rock and electronic influences, which still form the basis of his open approach to music.
Eighteen years old, he was admitted to the Antwerp Conservatory and after graduating for jazz piano in Antwerp he went to the Brussels Conservatory, where he graduated in 2005 for jazz composition and arranging.
Besides the faculty at those conservatories Bram took lessons and attended masterclasses a.o. from Kenny Werner, Anthony Braxton, Gary Peacock, Mark Turner, Dave Liebman, Bill Carrotters and plenty of others.
During the years Bram participated in a wide range of projects. He played in several jazz formations but has a wide scope. He performed as well with people from the Belgian hip hop scene, singer-songwriters and alternative bands. But most of his time and dedication go to a lot of different jazz/impro projects: his own Bram Weijters trio and Quartet , Hamster Axis of the One-Click Panther, Mazzle, Zygomatik, Jelle Van Giel Group, ...
With these different projects he performed in clubs, on festivals as well as in concert halls in Belgium as well as abroad. He also composes and writes arrangements for a lot of these bands
Lionel Beuvens
Lionel Beuvens (°1981) started playing drums at young age. At the age of 12, he followed classes at the music academy where he was introduced to jazz music by Antoine Cirri and Nathalie Loriers.
He participated in several summer trainings where he was fortunate to meet Billy Hart.
In 2004 he was awarded the master diploma at the “Koninklijk Conservatorium” (Brussels, Belgium) and started taking classes both at the Lemmens Institute (Dré Pallemaerts and Pierre Van
Dormael) as well as at the “Conservatorium” in The Hague (The Netherlands) with Eric Ineke. He is a member of several bands: Fabrice Alleman 4tet , Peter Hertmans quartet, Frank Vaganée trio+zefiro torna, Erik Bogaert Kvartett...
In addition he has his own band, the Lionel Beuvens 4tet and contributed to several CDs (Chroma, Alien Bitesize, Après un rêve, Sabin Todorov trio, Peter Hertmans quartet, Nicolas Kummert Voices, Fabrice Alleman...).
https://youtu.be/FO-B68mMHgA
Limited number of places, please book!
Entrance: 12,- euros

Back to overview

Impression

Discover atmosphere

Contact us

Jazz Bar 27B flat
Sint-Jakobsstraat 15
8000 Brugge

E: tune-in@27bflat.be
Resto/Bar+32 479 29 74 29
Bands, DJ - +32 479 29 74 29

Stay informed

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed of all our events

24-02-2023 20:30

Mazzel

Koen Nys - Saxophone ténor
Bram Weijters - Piano, Wurlitzer, Synthétiseur Moog
Lionel Beuvens - Batterie
Membres du groupe Bios :
Koen Nys
Né en 1965 à Schriek, près de Heist-op-den Berg (Belgique), Koen Nys a commencé à étudier la musique à l'académie de musique locale à l'âge de 14 ans, également grâce au soutien et aux encouragements de son frère. Il a développé une véritable passion pour le jazz en assistant à des concerts internationaux au 'Hnita Hoeve'. En 1982, il a commencé à étudier au Jazz Studio, alors nouvellement créé, à Anvers (Belgique), pendant deux ans, où il a suivi des cours privés de John Ruocco. Ses camarades de classe étaient Erwin Vann, Hendrik Braeckman, Piet Verbist, Frank Vaganee et d'autres. Il a également participé aux Jazz Workshops à Dwerp et a suivi les cours de Joe Lovano.
Koen a quitté la Belgique et s'est dirigé vers Montréal en 1984 où il a étudié à l'Université McGill et a obtenu le diplôme en « Jazz Performance ». Après ses études à l'Université McGill, il a joué avec divers groupes à Montréal. Koen se produit avec son propre quintette au « Festival International de Jazz de Montréal » en 1992.
Au cours de ses études, il a assisté à des ateliers, entre autres, Steve Grossman, Bob Mover, Barry Harris (atelier d'une semaine). Il a également pris des cours avec Fred Henke, qui était le pianiste du groupe de Steve Grossman à l'époque. Il a joué dans plusieurs groupes de jazz avec ses condisciples, avec Ron Seguin, également bassiste du groupe de Steve Grossman. Il a joué dans des formations latines et était co-leader du groupe latin appelé «Guayaba».
Un an plus tard, il a échangé Montréal pour Tokyo, au Japon, où il a résidé pendant deux ans, se produisant avec divers groupes et enseignant. Il a rencontré le bassiste Jesse Murphy et ils ont joué des concerts ensemble. De plus, il a également joué avec un groupe français
avec Patrick Nugier et ils ont fini par enregistrer un album ensemble 'Musette ? Chouette !! ». À l'été 1995, il a participé au Jazz Workshop à Banff, au Canada, et a eu l'occasion à cet endroit de travailler avec Kenny Wheeler et Joe Labarbera.
Par la suite, Koen a déménagé à New York, où il a étudié avec George Garzone et a pleinement apprécié la scène jazz new-yorkaise. Il a commencé son premier quartet avec le guitariste canadien Mike Rud, le bassiste Steve Doyle et le batteur irlandais Darren Beckett et a enregistré son premier CD intitulé 'CHIMBE' lors d'une tournée aux États-Unis. Il a jammé avec Jesse Murphy, Jorge Rossy et Michael Kanan avec qui il a également fait quelques concerts.
Il revient brièvement à Montréal; s'est produit dans plusieurs « concerts d'hôtel » aux Émirats arabes (avec Ron Seguin) et en Corée (avec le guitariste à 7 cordes Jon Garey) et s'est finalement installé à nouveau en Belgique.
De retour chez lui, il s'est produit avec le "Brussels Jazz Orchestra" et a travaillé avec - entre autres - Dré Pallemaerts, Felix Simtaine, Kurt Van Herck, Lieven Venken et Piet Verbist dans des clubs de jazz, principalement à Anvers et Bruxelles. Depuis octobre 2001, Koen enseigne au Jazz Studio d'Anvers et dans plusieurs académies de musique en Belgique (Tongres, Heist-op-den-Berg et Lennik). En 2003, Koen a été invité en tant que musicien invité pour le premier CD de Chris Mentens, 'Jazz Van'. Il faisait partie du groupe hip 'Milleniums', enregistrant leur premier CD en 2004, suivi du second en 2009. En 2011, il enregistre 'Turtle Music' avec son Koen Nys Quintet et se produit avec ses propres groupes ou en freelance. musicien dans des clubs, en compagnie - entre autres - de Bram Weijters, Marek Patrman, Manolo Cabras, Ewout Pierreux et Lionel Beuvens.
Depuis quelques années, il travaille sur le projet MAZZLE, impliquant Bram Weijters au clavier et Lionel Beuvens à la batterie, aboutissant au premier album ‘Genetic Modified Art - GMA’.
Bram Weyter
A huit ans, Bram a commencé des cours de musique à l'école de musique de sa ville natale, en suivant des cours de piano et de percussions. Outre cette formation classique, il joue de la batterie dans plusieurs groupes de rock alternatif à l'adolescence et expérimente les magnétophones et les circuits électroniques. C'est ainsi qu'il a capté des influences classiques, rock et électroniques, qui constituent toujours la base de son approche ouverte de la musique.
A dix-huit ans, il est admis au Conservatoire d'Anvers et après avoir obtenu son diplôme de piano jazz à Anvers, il entre au Conservatoire de Bruxelles, où il obtient en 2005 un diplôme de composition et d'arrangement jazz.
Outre le corps professoral de ces conservatoires, Bram a suivi des cours et assisté à des masterclasses, entre autres. de Kenny Werner, Anthony Braxton, Gary Peacock, Mark Turner, Dave Liebman, Bill Carrotters et bien d'autres.
Au cours des années, Bram a participé à un large éventail de projets. Il a joué dans plusieurs formations de jazz mais a un large champ d'action. Il a également joué avec des gens de la scène hip hop belge, des auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes et des groupes alternatifs. Mais la plupart de son temps et de son dévouement va à de nombreux projets de jazz/impro différents : son propre trio et quatuor Bram Weijters, Hamster Axis of the One-Click Panther, Mazzle, Zygomatik, Jelle Van Giel Group, ...
Avec ces différents projets il se produit dans des clubs, sur des festivals ainsi que dans les salles de concert en Belgique comme à l'étranger. Il compose et écrit également des arrangements pour beaucoup de ces groupes
Lionel Beuvens
Lionel Beuvens (°1981) a commencé à jouer de la batterie très jeune. A 12 ans, il suit les cours du conservatoire où il est initié au jazz par Antoine Cirri et Nathalie Loriers.
Il a participé à plusieurs entraînements d'été où il a eu la chance de rencontrer Billy Hart.
En 2004, il obtient le diplôme de master au « Koninklijk Conservatorium » (Bruxelles, Belgique) et commence à suivre des cours à la fois à l'Institut Lemmens (Dré Pallemaerts et Pierre Van
Dormael) ainsi qu'au « Conservatorium » de La Haye (Pays-Bas) avec Eric Ineke. Il est membre de plusieurs formations : Fabrice Alleman 4tet , Peter Hertmans quartet, Frank Vaganée trio+zefiro torna, Erik Bogaert Kvartett...
De plus il a son propre groupe, le Lionel Beuvens 4tet et a contribué à plusieurs CD (Chroma, Alien Bitesize, Après un rêve, Sabin Todorov trio, Peter Hertmans quartet, Nicolas Kummert Voices, Fabrice Alleman...).
https://youtu.be/FO-B68mMHgA
Nombre de places limité, merci de réserver !
Entrée : 12,- euros

Retour à la liste

Impression

Découvrir l'atmosphere

Contactez-nous

Jazz Bar 27B flat
Sint-Jakobsstraat 15
8000 Brugge

E: tune-in@27bflat.be
Resto/Bar+32 479 29 74 29
Bands, DJ - +32 479 29 74 29

Rester informé

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et restez informé de tous nos événements