22-12-2023 20:30

Mercier/Mathijs Quartet

MAEL MERCIER
Maël Mercier (Brussels, BE) grew up with a jazz saxophonist as a father. He remembers nights he spent trying to fall asleep in the touring minibus, straining his ears to listen to concerts outdoors in the south of France.
At the age of twelve, he immersed himself in musical humanities at the famous Kunsthumaniora in Brussels. There, he meets his peers and can finally develop his passion for jazz. Maël already obtained his secondary school diploma at the age of sixteen and graduated from the conservatory of Brussels at the age of 18. At the moment he is doing his master studies at the internationally renowned conservatory of Basel.
RUTGER MATHYS
Rutger Mathys (Ghent, BE) is obsessed with creation. At the secondary art school MUDA, he discovered his love for the chromatic harmonica. The moment this curious little instrument touched his lips, he knew that this is what he was ment to do: creating beauty through music and harmonica. It turned out to be true. In 2022 he won the "Toots Challenge", organized to celebrate the 100th birthday of his hero and inspiration Toots Thielemans.
He now studies this instrument at the jazz master department of the Codarts Conservatory in Rotterdam. Rutger plays in several bands, all in different styles: funk, jazz, Brazilian, Latin, tango,... He plays both within the boarders of music and beyond and most of all: across them!
MERCIER/MATHYS QUARTET
Maël and Rutger met in April 2022. However, when they played together for the first time it seemed as if they had been doing that for years. In fact, it was as if they had known each other for years. Their music takes them on a journey through their favorite landscapes: jazz and beautiful songs. They never know in advance where they will end up and by which means. These two young friends search each other in their music and by doing so, find the ultimate freedom.
In this quartet, they are joined on their trip by Toon Rumen on bass and the Portuguese drummer Gabriel Moraes.
Limited places, please make a reservation!
Entrance: 15 euros

Back to overview

Impression

Discover atmosphere

Contact us

Jazz Bar 27B flat
Sint-Jakobsstraat 15
8000 Brugge

E: tune-in@27bflat.be
Resto/Bar+32 479 29 74 29
Bands, DJ - +32 479 29 74 29

Stay informed

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed of all our events

22-12-2023 20:30

Mercier/Mathijs Quartet

Maël MERCIER
Maël Mercier (Bruxelles, BE) a grandi avec un père saxophoniste de jazz. Il se souvient des nuits qu'il passait à essayer de s'endormir dans le minibus de tournée, tendant l'oreille pour écouter des concerts en plein air dans le sud de la France.
À l'âge de douze ans, il se plonge dans les humanités musicales à la célèbre Kunsthumaniora de Bruxelles. Là, il rencontre ses pairs et peut enfin développer sa passion pour le jazz. Maël a déjà obtenu son diplôme d'études secondaires à l'âge de seize ans et est diplômé du conservatoire de Bruxelles à l'âge de 18 ans. Il poursuit actuellement ses études de master au conservatoire de renommée internationale de Bâle.
RUTGER MATHYS
Rutger Mathys (Gand, BE) est obsédé par la création. C'est à l'école secondaire d'art MUDA qu'il découvre son amour pour l'harmonica chromatique. Dès l’instant où ce curieux petit instrument a touché ses lèvres, il a su que c’était ce qu’il devait faire : créer de la beauté à travers la musique et l’harmonica. Cela s'est avéré être vrai. En 2022, il remporte le « Toots Challenge », organisé pour célébrer le 100e anniversaire de son héros et inspiration Toots Thielemans.
Il étudie désormais cet instrument au département de master jazz du Conservatoire Codarts de Rotterdam. Rutger joue dans plusieurs groupes, tous dans des styles différents : funk, jazz, brésilien, latin, tango,... Il joue à la fois à l'intérieur des frontières de la musique et au-delà et surtout : à travers elles !
QUATUOR MERCIER/MATHYS
Maël et Rutger se sont rencontrés en avril 2022. Pourtant, lorsqu’ils ont joué ensemble pour la première fois, il semblait qu’ils faisaient cela depuis des années. En fait, c’était comme s’ils se connaissaient depuis des années. Leur musique les emmène dans un voyage à travers leurs paysages préférés : le jazz et les belles chansons. Ils ne savent jamais à l’avance où ils aboutiront et par quel moyen. Ces deux jeunes amis se recherchent dans leur musique et trouvent ainsi la liberté ultime.
Dans ce quatuor, ils sont rejoints dans leur voyage par Toon Rumen à la basse et le batteur portugais Gabriel Moraes.
Places limitées, merci de réserver !
Entrée : 15 euros

Retour à la liste

Impression

Découvrir l'atmosphere

Contactez-nous

Jazz Bar 27B flat
Sint-Jakobsstraat 15
8000 Brugge

E: tune-in@27bflat.be
Resto/Bar+32 479 29 74 29
Bands, DJ - +32 479 29 74 29

Rester informé

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et restez informé de tous nos événements